Kansas Legislature Grants Residency Status for Tuition to Indigenous American Students

Graduate Student Posing for a Photo on Campus

The Kansas Legislature has taken a significant step towards supporting Indigenous American students by enacting a new provision that grants residency status for tuition purposes at public institutions of higher education in Kansas. Effective from July 1, 2024, through June 30, 2025, Indigenous American students from surrounding tribes will be eligible for residency status for tuition payment at Kansas public institutions of higher education, regardless of their state of residence.

This groundbreaking initiative aims to enhance educational opportunities and reduce financial barriers for Indigenous American students. Eligible tribes, including the Cherokee, Delaware, and Osage, will benefit from this provision, allowing their members to attend institutions such as Coffeyville Community College as Kansas residents for tuition purposes.

 “We are committed to making higher education more accessible and affordable for Indigenous American students,” said Dr. Marlon Thornburg, President of Coffeyville Community College.  We believe this initiative will empower many young people to achieve their academic goals and contribute positively to our communities.”

By recognizing the historical and cultural significance of these tribes and their connections to the region, the Kansas Legislature reaffirms its commitment to promoting inclusivity and supporting the educational aspirations of Indigenous American communities.   

For more information contact Student Success Recruiter:  Hannah Kennedy - [email protected]