Eta Gamma Members Attend Iowa Conference

Eta Gamma Members Attend Iowa Conference

Receiving recognition for their participation in the Iowa Region Honors Conference are Coffeyville Community College Phi Theta Kappa members, left to right, Katelyn Shearhart, J’Mour Allison, Kenny Dodson and Rebekah Morris.

Representatives from the Eta Gamma Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa  at Coffeyville Community College participated in the Iowa Regional Honors Institute held at Iowa State University Ames, Iowa, July 27-28.  Theme for the conference was How the World Works:  Global Perspectives.  Participants were housed in Friley Dormitory on the ISU campus.

The first general session featured the Iowa Regional Officer Team including Kelly Mathison, President and Bill Clifford, Vice President from Western Iowa Tech Community College and Alysha Davis-Osborne, Regional Vice President from Iowa Central Community College.  Keynote presenter for the second general session was Linda McFate, Coffeyville Community College adviser for the Eta Gamma Chapter.  In her presentation, Mrs. McFate addressed where chapters could start in their honors topic selection, techniques for effective research of the topic, the selection of project objectives, and the action component or service aspect of the honors topic.

Highlighting the third general session was filmmaker and actor, Matt CiCi, a member of the Phi Xi Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa and communications director of the Minn-Kota Region.  His topic focused upon the differences between sympathy and empathy.  Each general session was followed by a seminar setting that prompted questions and answers from the keynote speeches.

Thursday evening found the Coffeyville students participating in a Campus as Text activity that featured historic locations on the Iowa State University campus.  Attending the conference provided the CCC students with an opportunity to explore the Honors-in-Action Study Topic and themes, enhance personal and professional leadership skills, to discover scholarly strengths and limitations and to foster friendship and fellowship.  At the conclusion of the conference, the Coffeyville students were presented Iowa pins and certificates.  Students representing the Eta Gamma Chapter were:  Kenny Dodson, Wesley Merritt, Katelyn Shearhart, Rebekah Morris, and J'Mour Allison.

The next activities for the chapter include cleaning the concession stand area during the inter-state fair and rodeo and an Officer Retreat August 25-26 at the Leatherock Hotel and Bed and Breakfast in Cherryvale.