Eta Gamma Begins Fall Semester With Officer Retreat

Eta Gamma Begins Fall Semester With Officer Retreat

Eta Gamma officers pose for a photo during their fall retreat at the Leatherock Hotel in Cherryvale, Kan.

The Eta Gamma Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at Coffeyville Community College began their fall 2017 semester with the annual fall officer retreat at the Leatherock Hotel. It is a railroad bed and breakfast that was established during Cherryvale's heyday in 1912.

The Eta Gamma Chapter Officers were guests of Jim and Shirley Ann Hogben. The couple shared the history of Cherryvale as a train town, and the restoration of the hotel with the students.  

Eta Gamma officers were joined by officers and adviser Brenda Sanchez from the Beta Omega Chapter at Independence Community College.  During the two-day event, participants focused on chapter team building through chapter officer bingo, "Eagles, Beavers, and Bunnies" leadership style, and a core values exercise.  

To promote member initiatives, the officers reviewed the year's calendar, the Five Star Chapter Development Plan and chapter fundraising.  Friday evening's dinner choice was Just Us, a Cherryvale buffet venue where assistant Eta Gamma Chapter Adviser Jesus Medina joined the group.  
Before concluding the retreat on Saturday, officers focused on Chapter Honors in Action and College Projects as well as scholarship sources, and personal development which included and Five Star Competitive Edge.  A quiz bowl event concluded the retreat.  
Members were housed in the hotel's restored and themed rooms including the Sunflower, Art Deco, Station Agents, Vivian Vance, Santa Fe, and Route 66.  The officers were invited to attend the model train reception at the hotel in November.

Eta Gamma officers attending the retreat were:  President, Kenny Dodson; Co-Vice Presidents of Scholarship, Ja'Mour Allison and Kendall Blaich; Co-Vice Presidents of Service, Brylee Brasher and Harlene Alford; Co-Vice Presidents of Membership, Bekah Morris and Katelyn Shearhart; Co-Vice President of Fellowship, Ajanea Gunby; Treasurer, Jaycee Meek; Secretary, Ajanea Gunby;  Vice President of Communication, Tyler Smith; Assistant Adviser, Jesus Medina; and Adviser, Linda McFate.