1978 Team, 3 Players To Be Inducted Into Lettermen's Hall of Fame

Ravens Logo

Ron Cecil (1966-67), Siran Stacy (1987-88), Paul Soliai (2002-03) and the 1978 team will be inducted into the Lettermen's Hall of Fame on Oct. 13 at 1 p.m. in the Student Union Cafeteria. Reservations for the luncheon will be accepted through Oct 1.  Costs for the luncheon are $15 for a single person, or $25 for a couple. Contact Jana Kastler at 620.252.7360 for more information or to make a reservation.

Cecil was named to the all-conference team as a freshman tackle, and the Ravens finished as Jayhawk co-champions. As a sophomore guard and punter, he was presented the Silver Helmet Award for "contributing most" to the Ravens' football program. Cecil moved on to West Virginia University where he played two seasons for the Mountaineers including a Peach Bowl victory over South Carolina during his senior season. 

Stacy played two seasons under legendary Raven Head Coach Dick Foster. Stacy was a first team JC Gridwire returner his sophomore season in 1988, and also earned second team NJCAA honors at running back. Stacy recorded 27 touchdowns in 1988 and 166 points scored that season still rank second all-time for the Red Ravens season scoring list behind just Ron Springs who tallied 168 points in 1975. Stacy played two season at Alabama and was a second team NCAA All-American as a senior. 

Soliai was a two-time All-Jayhawk Conference offensive lineman. He earned an honorable mention NJCAA All-American selection in 2002, and was a first-team selection as a sophomore in 2003.

After two seasons at the University of Utah including a second team All-MWC selection as a senior, Soliai enjoyed a ten year career in the NFL. Soliai played seven seasons for the Miami Dolphins, two years with the Atlanta Falcons and his season for the Carolina Panthers. Soliai made the Pro Bowl in 2011.

The 1978 Team finished 10-1 losing just to NEO 10-7. The Ravens pounded previously unbeatened Iowa Central 38-6 in the Coca Cola Bowl in Cedar Falls, Iowa. Iowa Central was declared national champions prior to the bowl game in the national bowl. The next year, the NJCAA would wait until the last bowl game and poll before declaring a national champ. 

Coffeyville had four All-Americans in 1978: defensive lineman Mike Ruzich was selected first team by both the NJCAA and the JC Grid Wire. Quarterback Mike Long was second team by the J.C. Grid Wire. Keith Houfek was named second team NJCAA, and defensive tackle Tim Cole was second team NJCAA. Long led the nation in passing by completing 146 of 296 passes for 2,177 yards and 23 touchdowns. He is currently Coffeyville’s career passing leader with 4,158 yards and 37 touchdowns.

Related Link: Lettermen's Club Hall of Fame Homecoming Weekend Itinerary and Reservation Information