CST Presents "Peter Pan Jr." as 20th Anniversary Show

CST Presents "Peter Pan Jr." as 20th Anniversary Show

Peter (Grace Reber) whispers to Wendy (Nadia Blackert) that Tinker Bell (Abigail Balson) is a 2-inch-tall fairy and often a big pain in the neck during this scene from “Peter Pan Jr.” to be presented Thursday through Sunday at Coffeyville Community College.

To mark the 20th anniversary of the Children’s Summer Theatre program, Coffeyville Community College present’s Disney’s “Peter Pan Jr.” this week in the Spencer / Rounds Performing Arts Theatre.

“Some boys never grow up, and some shows never grow old,” said Allen Twitchell, who co-directs the production with CCC vocal music instructor John Gray. “This is a timeless classic about the value of freeing your imagination and remaining young at heart.”

CCC first presented “Peter Pan” in 2004, under the direction of program founder Mark Frank. Unlike that original, longer version, “Peter Pan Jr.” does not entail flying and removes some of the “menace” from the story.

“It’s not quite as dark,” said Twitchell, concluding his first year as CCC’s director of theatre. “But all the essential elements of the tale are present. And, we’re presenting it as if a group of children are telling it to the audience, so costumes and, especially, set are minimalized. You can create the sense of Never Land with a couple of pieces of blue fabric and a simple painted tree.”

Show times are 7:30 p.m. Thursday, Friday and Saturday, and 2 p.m. Sunday. There is no admission charge.

The 42-person cast includes Grace Reber as Peter Pan, Peyton Pauzauskie as Tinker Bell (Friday and Saturday), Abigail Balson as Tinker Bell (Thursday and Sunday), Nadia Blackert as Wendy, Evan Sprague as John, Kylie Speer as Michael, Wyatt Starnes as Captain Hook, Makenna Walker as Smee, Emmett Starnes as Mr. Darling, Lena Blackert as Mrs. Darling, Madeline Murdock as Nana, Trevor Jones as Chief Tiger Bamboo, Jenna Speer as Tiger Lily and Madigan Phillips as the Crocodile.

Playing Fairies are Brynlee Taylor, Grace Wawrzynnaik, Emma Viets, Peyton Pauzauskie, Hannah Samples, Taylynn Walker and Addie Mund.
Pirates are Kaden Cowles, Dustin Hansen, Bella Vincen, Rica Kirk, Ainsley McKellips, Hannah Emberton and Kayleen Eastham.

Lost Boys are Emma Gossard, Brooke Sykes, Heide Blackert, Lucas Frederiksen, Ashlynne Fontes, Izzi Smith and Timmy Sykes.

Playing Indians are Paige Kitterman, Harmony Songer, Allee Erne and Ainsley McKellips.
And, as Mermaids are Savannah Viets, Jade Songer, Mercy Cowles, Kayleen Eastham, Emma Thompson, Ashleigh Cowles, Lena Blackert, Madigan Phillips and Madeline Murdock.

The accompanist is Kristi Reedy, and the backstage crew consists of Bailey Kabrey, Chelsie Burroughs, Spencer Potter and Jesus Medina. Chris Cameron handled set design and construction.